We are a ‘Voluntary Controlled’ Church of England school.  The purpose of the Governing Body is to help the school provide the best possible education for all its pupils, ensuring that the school is held accountable to those it serves.  Our Governors also get involved in a wide range of activities in school in their role of both support and challenge to the school community.

In accordance with the Government’s requirement for all governing bodies, the 4 strategic functions of Staining Primary School Governing Body are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos, values and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.
  • Upholding the Christian vision and values for the school and ensuring its Christian distinctiveness as a Church of England Primary School.


Governance Structure

The Governing Body of Staining Primary School is made up of: 

  • 1 Headteacher Governor 
  • 1 Staff Governor 
  • 1 Local Authority Governor 
  • 3 Foundation Governors 
  • 2 Parent Elected Governors 
  • 5 Co-opted Governor


Co-opted Governors

Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body and are people who the governing body believes have skills which will contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

There is no restriction on the categories of people who can be appointed as co-opted governors.


Parent Governors

Parents, including carers, of pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election as parent governors. They are elected by other parents.  If not enough parents stand for election, the governing body can appoint parent governors.

The law does not allow elected members of the local authority, or people who work at the school for more than 500 hours in a year, to become parent governors. 

Staff Governors

Staff governors are elected by the school staff. Both teaching and support staff employed to work at the school are eligible for staff governorship; volunteers are not eligible.

Local Authority Governors

Local authority governors are appointed by the local authority (Lancashire County Council) or nominated by the local authority and appointed by the governing body.

Anyone who is eligible to be a staff governor cannot be appointed as a local authority governor, but any other eligible person can.

Foundation Governors

  • Foundation Governors are appointed by the Church. The vicar holds a permanent ex-officio position. They work to maintain the school’s close links with our Church, uphold the Christian vision and values and ensure our Christian distinctiveness as a Church of England Primary School.

  • Governors Code of Conduct.pdf

  • Register of Business Interests March 2024.pdf

  • Governor Terms of Office 2024.docx